Loading...
Marcus on the Code.Talks stage

Backendhance

Preventions for your Backend

We empower your team to develop faster, more efficiently, and pragmatically.

For a Healthy Backend

If the frontend is the skin, then the backend is the brain, organs, and circulatory system. A person, fit from the outside, is only as capable as their internals. And just like with humans, an internal problem in software only becomes apparent when it's too late.

We help companies take care of their inner health. Our projects are successful when you don't notice your backend. When your launch goes smoothly. When your customers can use the product as intended. When you onboard new customers to your platform - and it just works. Yes, when you develop as fast as you expect. And all that at lower costs than you're used to.

Image

12+ Years

Experience on the JVM

220+ Million

Users Served

The goal for [the] one-day workshop was to analyze the current situation to lay the foundation to make decisions on towards which direction we should develop our tech stack and development team. Before we started, my main concern was that we wouldn't be able in just one day to produce sufficient results, thus ending up without a valid roadmap. But that wasn't the case at all. Instead, we had a very effective workshop, which was also a lot of fun and exactly met our expectations. [...]

I am very satisfied with the result and would recommend Marcus to anyone who needs conceptual guidance in structuring their tech stack and/or technology team.

Marcus is an exceptional architect and developer whose technical proficiency and pragmatic approach make him stand out in my career. He possesses a deep understanding of the tools he works with and consistently delivers effective solutions to any challenge he faces. One of his strengths is his ability to question requirements and build only what is necessary, without overcomplicating things.

Working with Marcus always has been a pleasure, both on a personal and a professional level. Understanding the technology is one thing, guiding and motivating a team to deliver results often requires a different skillset. Marcus has both skills in his toolbox, highly recommend to work with him.

Backendhance - That's

Marcus Held

As the Head of Backend Engineering with 30 employees, he wanted to build the best backend department on the planet. But reality had other plans. Shortly before the launch of a client project, it was discovered that there was no monitoring and alerting in place. Another project generated so much data that operating costs skyrocketed. In the next project, exceptions were flying around, and data was getting corrupted in live operation. And yet another project had the longest development times with the largest team. He had failed. And he couldn't get it under control. His role demanded so much time that he couldn't help his team achieve technical excellence. That was unsatisfying. The backend enables the business. It shouldn't stand in the way. It shouldn't lead to frustration for the customer.

At that point, he decided to focus all his attention on it. He stepped down from his role as department head. And after more than a decade in backend development, he started Backendhance.

The Backend Serves the Product

After countless conversations with founders, engineering managers, project managers, and tech enthusiasts, we understand that a team doesn't just "need developers". The team needs a mentor, someone who enables the team with real-world experience and practical tips.

A backend serves the product. It empowers solving the problem for the user. And it does so smoothly and quickly. Backend applications are being developed everywhere, designed with high (unintentional) complexity. They incur high operational and maintenance costs. They run unreliably. High development costs and poor performance are the result. Our mission is to empower developers, project managers, architects, and teams. So that the project stays healthy and achieves its goal.

To achieve that, we develop workshops aimed at imparting the right mindset and the right tools to the team. They prevent the team from ending up in a dead end and enable them to make informed decisions.

Discover Workshops

Every team, every product is different. That's why we want to make you an offer that suits your situation. Get in touch with us.

Experience it live?

Card image
Dev & Donuts 06/16/2024

Pragmatic Programming with Kotlin

Dave Thomas and Andy Hunt have influenced the design of modern programming languages with "The Pragmatic Programmer". Kotlin is such a modern language that combines the robustness of the JVM with modern paradigms. In this talk, Marcus provides examples of Pragmatic Programming and introduces us to Kotlin. Sit back and enjoy 20 minutes of live coding.

Card image
W-JAX 06. - 10.11.2023

The Performance Mindset

What do I do when my product goes through the roof? How do I set my team up for the situation? In this talk we look at the "Performance Mindset"

Card image
RabbitMQ Summit 20.10.2023

Keynote: The Performance Mindset

What do I do when my product goes through the roof? How do I set my team up for the situation? In this keynote we look at the "Performance Mindset".

Watch on Youtube
Card image
KKON 16.10.2023

Pragmatic Programming with Kotlin

How do you apply the philosophy of a Pragmatic Programmer with Kotlin? Marcus will explore this question at KKON in October.

Watch on Youtube
Card image
Developer Meetup Essen 24.05.2023

Pragmatic Spring

There are many features in the Spring Framework. Marcus gave practical tips and tricks to implement the lessons from "The Pragmatic Programmer" with Spring.

Card image
Spring NRW 12.10.2022

(k)lean JPA

Spring NRW is a cologne user group around development with Spring. Marcus presented his talk (k)lean JPA with updates from last year.

Card image
code.talks 25.10.2019

Boost Your Development With Proper API Design

With more than 1,600 attendees, code.talks was the largest German developer conference in 2019. over 400 experienced live discussions on robust software design.

Watch on Youtube

Have you heard of Marcus' Backend Newsletter?

New ideas. Twice a week!
Top

Loading...
Marcus auf der Code.Talks Bühne

Backendhance

Vorsorge für Ihr Backend

Ich befähige Ihr Team, schneller, effizienter und pragmatisch zu entwickeln.

Für ein gesundes Backend

Wenn das Frontend die Haut ist, dann ist das Backend das Gehirn, die Organe und der Blutkreislauf. Ein Mensch, der von außen fit aussieht, ist nur so leistungsfähig wie sein Inneres. Und genau wie beim Menschen fällt ein innerer Schaden in der Software erst auf, wenn es zu spät ist.

Ich helfe Unternehmen, sich um ihre innere Gesundheit zu kümmern. Meine Projekte sind erfolgreich, wenn Ihnen Ihr Backend nicht auffällt. Wenn Ihr Launch reibungslos verläuft. Wenn Ihre Kunden das Produkt nutzen können, wie es gewollt ist. Wenn Sie neue Kunden auf Ihre Plattform onboarden - und es einfach funktioniert. Ja, wenn Sie so schnell entwickeln, wie Sie es erwarten. Und das zu geringeren Kosten, als Sie gewohnt sind.

Image

13+ Jahre

Erfahrung auf der JVM

220+ Millionen

User bedient

Meine Teams und ich hatten die besondere Herausforderung unsere in die Jahre gekommene Technologie der B2B Plattform zu erneuern. [...] Seine Beratung fand in Form eines dreitägigen Workshops mit unserem gesamten Entwicklerteam statt und hat zu äußerst erfolgreichen Ergebnissen geführt.

Marcus hat sich als äußerst kompetent und professionell erwiesen.[...]

Abschließend möchte ich betonen, dass die Zusammenarbeit mit Marcus eine äußerst positive Erfahrung war. Seine Fähigkeit, komplexe technische Herausforderungen zu verstehen und pragmatische Lösungen zu finden, hat uns nachhaltig beeindruckt. [...]

Im Zuge [eines] eintägigen [Discovery] Workshops ging es darum, die aktuelle Situation zu analysieren, um auf dieser Basis Entscheidungen treffen zu können, in welche Richtung wir unser Tech Stack und Development Team entwickeln sollen. Meine größte Sorge vor dem Workshop war, dass wir es nicht schaffen würden, innerhalb nur eines Tages valide Ergebnisse zu erarbeiten und dann im Anschluss ohne Marschroute dastehen würden. Das war aber keineswegs der Fall. Stattdessen hatten wir einen sehr effektiven Workshop, der zudem noch sehr viel Spaß gemacht hat und genau unsere Erwartungen erfüllt hat.[...]

Ich bin sehr zufrieden mit dem Ergebnis und würde Marcus jedem weiterempfehlen, der konzeptionelle Begleitung bei der Strukturierung seines Tech Stacks und/oder Technologie-Teams benötigt.

Marcus is an exceptional architect and developer whose technical proficiency and pragmatic approach make him stand out in my career. He possesses a deep understanding of the tools he works with and consistently delivers effective solutions to any challenge he faces. One of his strengths is his ability to question requirements and build only what is necessary, without overcomplicating things.

Working with Marcus always has been a pleasure, both on a personal and a professional level. Understanding the technology is one thing, guiding and motivating a team to deliver results often requires a different skillset. Marcus has both skills in his toolbox, highly recommend to work with him.

Backendhance - das ist

Marcus Held

Als Head of Backend Engineering mit 30 Mitarbeitern wollte ich die beste Backendabteilung auf dem Planeten aufbauen. Doch die Realität kam anders. Kurz vor Launch eines Kundenprojekts fiel auf, dass noch kein Monitoring und Alerting existiert. Ein anderes Projekt schrieb so viele Daten, dass die Betriebskosten explodierten. Im nächsten flogen Exceptions und Daten korrumpierten im Live-Betrieb. Und ein wieder anderes hatte die längsten Entwicklungszeiten mit dem größten Team. Ich war gescheitert. Und ich bekam es nicht in den Griff. Meine Rolle verlangte so viel Zeit, dass ich mein Team nicht zur fachlichen Exzellenz verhelfen konnte. Das war unbefriedigend. Das Backend enabled das Business. Es soll nicht im Weg stehen. Es soll zu keinem Frust beim Kunden führen.

Zu diesem Zeitpunkt entschied ich, meine volle Aufmerksamkeit darauf zu richten. Ich legte meine Rolle als Abteilungsleiter ab. Und nach über einem Jahrzehnt in der Backendentwicklung startete ich Backendhance.

Das Backend dient dem Produkt

Nach unzähligen Gesprächen mit Gründern, Engineering Managern, Projektverantwortlichen und Tech-Enthusiasten verstehe ich, dass ein Team nicht "einfach nur Entwickler braucht". Das Team benötigt einen Mentor, jemanden der aus realer Erfahrung und mit praktischen Tipps das Team enabled.

Ein Backend dient dem Produkt. Es befähigt das Problem für den Nutzer zu lösen. Und das so reibungslos und schnell wie möglich. Überall entstehen Backendapplikationen, die unter hoher (unabsichtlicher) Komplexität entworfen werden. Die hohe Betriebs- und Wartungskosten aufrufen. Die unzuverlässig laufen. Hohe Entwicklungskosten und schlechte Performance sind die Folge. Es ist meine Mission, Entwickler, Projektleiter, Architekten und Teams zu enablen. Damit das Projekt gesund bleibt und sein Ziel erreicht.

Um das zu erreichen, entwickle ich Workshops, die darauf abzielen, dem Team das richtige Mindset mit den passenden Tools zu vermitteln. Sie verhindern, dass das Team in eine Sackgasse läuft und befähigen es, sinnvolle Entscheidungen zu treffen.

Workshop entdecken

Jedes Team, jedes Produkt ist anders. Deshalb möchte ich Ihnen ein Angebot machen, das auf Ihre Situation passt. Nehmen Sie dazu Kontakt mit mir auf.

Live erleben?

Card image
Dev & Donuts 16.06.2024

Pragmatic Programming mit Kotlin

Dave Thomas und Andy Hunt haben mit „The Pragmatic Programmer“ das Design moderner Programmiersprachen beeinflusst. Kotlin ist eine solche moderne Sprache, die die Robustheit der JVM mit modernen Paradigmen verbindet. In diesem Talk gebe ich Beispiele zum Thema Pragmatic Programming und stelle Ihnen dabei Kotlin vor. Lehnen Sie sich zurück und genießen Sie 20 Minuten Livecoding.

Watch on Youtube
Card image
W-JAX 06. - 10.11.2023

Das Performance Mindset

In diesem unterhaltsamen Talk zeige ich anhand eines prominenten Beispiels, welche Auswirkungen unzureichende Performance haben kann. Anhand von 8 Lektionen zeige ich, welche Werte Sie vertreten müssen, um ein solches Disaster zu verhindern.

Card image
RabbitMQ Summit 20.10.2023

Keynote: The Performance Mindset

Was mache ich, wenn mein Produkt durch die Decke geht? Wie stelle ich mein Team für die Situation auf? In dieser Keynote schauen wir auf das "Performance Mindset".

Watch on Youtube
Card image
KKON 16.10.2023

Pragmatic Programming mit Kotlin

Wie wendet man die Philosophie eines Pragmatic Programmers mit Kotlin an? Dieser Frage gehe ich im Oktober auf der KKON nach.

Watch on Youtube
Card image
Developer Meetup Essen 24.05.2023

Pragmatic Spring

Im Spring Framework gibt es viele Features. Ich gebe praktische Tipps und Tricks, um die Lehren aus "The Pragmatic Programmer" mit Spring umzusetzen.

Card image
Spring NRW 12.10.2022

(k)lean JPA

Spring NRW ist eine kölner User Group rund um die Entwicklung mit Spring. Ich präsentierte meinen Talk (k)lean JPA mit Updates aus dem letzten Jahr.

Card image
code.talks 25.10.2019

Boost Your Development With Proper API Design

Mit mehr als 1.600 Teilnehmern war die code.talks die größte deutsche Entwicklerkonferenz 2019. über 400 erlebten live die Diskussion über robustes Software Design.

Watch on Youtube

Kennst du schon Marcus' Backend Newsletter?

Neue Ideen. Jede Woche!
Top